top of page

Of Kindle Scout and Scribophilers

Good news came through the KDP newsletter - Kindle Scout has gone international! So there is nothing to write here anymore about Amazon and its restrictions. Well done Amazon.I have not read a single book for the last two months but that doesn't mean I haven't been reading. In fact, my eyes are so strained now I have to close them and pretend to think when all I need is a bit of a rest, but I can't. That's because I joined Scribophile.I came across a recommendation on one of the numerous writers' forums I'm so fond of. So I joined Scribophile and boy, don't I wish I had done that years back.Scribophile is a platform where you critiquing other people's WIPs and they critique yours. You don't just post your work, you earn Karma points by critiquing other's work and then use those points to post your own work. Karma points are not so easy to gain. You have to do a lot of critiquing.So I discovered something interesting. It is very easy to see when another writer has made an error, whether it's a lot of telling and no showing, it's a missing comma or the wrong word. But when it's my work, I see nothing. Then somebody else 'crits' my piece and I am shocked at all the blue and yellow marks and the validity of their criticism.I have gained a lot on Scribophile. My writing and editing has greatly improved and I have new writing partners in all parts of the world- Australia, Indonesia, USA, UK -you name it. My collection of short stories set in Africa - Shadows, Darkness and Light - has been fully critiqued by Scribophilers and will be published on Amazon by the end of the week.Ahoy Scribophilers!.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page